Camera rotation with RigidBodyControl rotation

Hi,

I want to make the camera match the rotation and the position of a RigidBodyControl object named ship. The first thing that sprang to mind was to simply set the Camera rotation and translation to a current rotation and translation of a ship in the simpleUpdate() method. The translation works. However, I ran into problems while setting the rotation, since Camera’s setRotation() method expects Quaternion and RigidBodyControl getPhysicsRotation() metrod returns Matrix3f. That alone suggested that my idea of doing this might be wrong, and that there might a better way.

On a side note, is there some specific reason why the RigidBodyControl rotations are done with matrices and not quaternions? Please excuse my ignorance. I’m quite new with this 3D business in practice. ( I’m a flatlander :slight_smile: )

Thanks

You can also use the rotation of the spatial that is controlled by the RigidBodyControl, its a quaternion. The difference is because bullet returns a Matrix and jME mostly uses Quaternions. You can convert one to the other or use getPhysicsRotationQuat().

Thanks for quick response. It works with spatial. I had doubts in my approach because I completely forgot that Bullet is another library.

So there is a getPhysicsRotationQuat(). I suppose it’s in a nightly or something like that, because I don’t have it. But that’s OK. Do you think it’s a good idea to maybe convert all Bullet’s Matrix3f to Quaternions (in a way that API exposes only Quaternions to the user, involving rotations)? That would make sense if, as you say, jME mostly uses Quaternions. In that scheme getPhysicsRotation() would that return Quaternion, and the methods that return matrix would end with Matrix, for example getPhysicsRotationMatrix().

What do you (and others) think about that? Would it break something in the framework? Is it worth it? Should I do it?