Can't get my app to run on OSX 10.8 even with latest Java version installed

Hi, I’ve been developping on JME3 for 4-5 months now part time and I’m quite happy with what I did so far, works great on PC, but I could NEVER EVER get my applications to run on MAC OS X 10.8 on an iMac 27" Titanium. Anybody would care to give me things to look for that might prevent my app from running on OSX 10.8? I do not own a Mac but my friend does, so I’ll be on/off trying step by step what people will tell me.

For starters, the app does not open the OpenGL window at all, like nothing. I already tried to install the newest Java version available at http://www.java.com but it doesn’t change anything.

Thx for step by step instructions I can try.

Console output plz, kthx bai.

***** PLEASE NOTE, I MADE A MISTAKE, IT’S OSX 10.6.8 (NOT 10.8) *****

OK, so I have tested on the Mac earlier and this is what happens…

The program immediately crashes with the generic OSX “The application unexpectedly quit.” message and the report contains this:

What to do next in order to make this application work? Any ideas? Things to look at? Common things in JME3 that fail on OSX 10.6? Thanks :stuck_out_tongue:

I think @normen wrote something a few days ago about OSX using OpenGL 2 instead of 3. Maybe that’s the case here?

Nah, I guess its the application wrapper, if you just run the jar file it should work. As so many things changed around Java on OSX we resorted to only support the “new” way. I wasn’t exactly aware that 10.6 fails so hard with the app stub but I guess there isn’t much we can do about it. 10.6 still has the XCode tool to wrap a jar as an application though, so you could use that. But it won’t work for 10.8+

So… are you saying that JME3 is meant to never work on 10.6.8 at all? Also, do you think that if my friend updates to 10.7 or 10.8 it should work?

Not exactly but you can take that as the gist of it.