Character creation / animation

Hello all.  I've been spending a lot of time reading the forums, faqs, tutorials, etc, so I apologize in advance if I've missed the answer to my question.  I would like to build a character that I can control in 3rd person.  I'm a fairly seasoned Java programmer, but I'm pretty new to the 3d world/jME and I don't have any experience modeling or creating animations.

I'd like to build a system that lets me dynamically create characters where I can modify all types of parameters including, body, facial features, skin color, clothing, etc.  I'm not sure where to start.  Do I need to create some sort of base model for the head/torso/appendages/etc for all avatars?  Or should this be all done in code through some sort of skeletal system?

Is there any sort of faq/tutorial that explains how to make a character actually walk around with somewhat believable animation?

I'm just looking for a starting place, so if anybody could point me in the right direction, I would greatly appreciate it!

WOW!, that is a big project you want to create here.

If you really need to change programatically all aspects of an animation, I think you have two strategies:

• Use a fully boned model (like an MD5 or something like that), and do the animations from that model by interpolating between initial and final positions.

• Create your own mesh modification structure that would capture exactly what you need.

Unfortunately this is no easy task either way... And requires lots of experience in 3D programming to achieve.

for animating the character, u can use maya or 3d studio max or even blender to do a set of skeletal animations. then export them as md5 files.

im writing the md5 importer for jme right now, and i should be able to finish it by this weekend.

for change the face and stuff, u can either use different face/head models or u can use vertex shaders to do a complete free face modeling in game.