Checking collisions with Rays doesn't take the ray length into account?

Checking collisions with Rays doesn’t take the ray length into account? I used ridiculously small ray to check for collisions in the proximity and I get results that are very far (distance). Of course I can filter them out, but this ray casting also slows my application down to a crawling speeds. And one thing I suspect that causes this is that the ray length perhaps isn’t taken into account. I’m not an expert on this, I don’t know does it make any difference at all to shoot smaller rays performance-wise…

What rays are you talking about? jME collision or bullet?

JME ones I think:

com.jme3.math.Ray ray = new com.jme3.math.Ray(start, start.subtract(inputRay.end.x, 0.25f, inputRay.end.y).normalizeLocal());
ray.setLimit(0.05f);
CollisionResults results = new CollisionResults();
((Node) world.getWorld().getChild(“Map”)).getChild(“Terrain”).collideWith(ray, results);

It doesn’t but effectively that wouldn’t do much. Although you see that the object is far away the engine doesn’t without looping through all objects and checking the bounding box of each at least.

I was prepared for that kind of answer. I think I can work around this. I’m trying to implement GDX-AI AI solution and it wants to shoot rays all over (Steering). I have just basically 2D tilemap and I can easily ask for location of walls etc. Even other creature locations for collision checking.

Yep. Most games actually check the locations first and then do ray tests from strategic positions (e.g. shoulders, feet, head) to check for occlusion.

The limit should be taken into account but it may only be done at the bounding shape level, I don’t remember. I have used it to limit my collisions before, though. I can’t recall the exact situation.

Perhaps my memory is bad or your scene has messed up bounding volumes.