Collision detection with GhostControl

I’m pretty new to JME and I’m trying to understand how the collision detection works when using a GhostControl object.

Here is the physics related initialization I’m doing:

[java]

bulletAppState = new BulletAppState();

stateManager.attach(bulletAppState);

CollisionShape sceneShape = CollisionShapeFactory.createMeshShape(sceneModel);

landscape = new RigidBodyControl(sceneShape, 0);

sceneModel.addControl(landscape);

CapsuleCollisionShape capsuleShape = new CapsuleCollisionShape(1f, 2f, 1);

player = new GhostControl(capsuleShape);

bulletAppState.getPhysicsSpace().add(landscape);

bulletAppState.getPhysicsSpace().add(player);

[/java]

And here is the physics related part of my update loop:

[java]

Vector3f lastLocation = player.getPhysicsLocation().clone();

if (down){

delta.y = -playerSpeedtpf;

} else if (up){

delta.y = playerSpeed
tpf;

} else {

delta.y = 0;

}

player.setPhysicsLocation(player.getPhysicsLocation().clone().addLocal(delta));

if (player.getOverlappingObjects().contains(landscape)){

System.out.println(“Colliding”);

player.setPhysicsLocation(lastLocation);

}

[/java]

The problem I’m having is that the player object is colliding with the landscape object, but instead of getting pushed back to a valid location, it gets stuck inside the landscape object. I feel like I’m missing something really stupid, but I can’t seem to figure out what it is. Can anyone help?

Nevermind, in my research I came across the PhysicsTickListener which solved the problem. I was not aware that you could not check collisions in the main update loop.

Maybe the tutorials will explain https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/legacy/doku.php/jme3:advanced:physics

“A GhostControl itself is non-solid and invisible. GhostControl moves with the Spatial it is attached to. Use GhostControls to implement custom game interactions by adding it to a visible Geometry.”

few things: