CollisionResults suggestion

How about a method of CollisionResults that returns just the geometries of all the collisions? Now multiple CollisionResult can contain the same geometry with a difference in collision mesh, but if the user is interested just in the geometries. I think it makes sense.
Sure It’s possible for the user to implement it by himself, but now I’m thinking of not so clean Hashmap implementation, or maybe some functional programming. But I’m not experienced in functional programming in java.
I

Cannot resist proposing xtend based solution :wink:

results.map[geometry].toSet

Java 8 would be a lot worse

StreamSupport.stream(results.spliterator(), false).map(coll -> coll.getGeometry()).distinct().toArray();
1 Like

Thanks for the answer :slight_smile:
I checked xtend, it looks kinda like Scala. but with many typing cheats :stuck_out_tongue:

For now I prefer to stick with Java 8 (also thinking to use guava lib in my project)

This might be a bit off topic question, but can I use Java 8 in jme3 if I want my game to run on Android?
I tried to google Android and Java 8 compatibility but didn’t find an unanimous answer

I don’t think that you can use java 8 on Android at the moment. But you CAN use xtend on Android :wink: Problem is that xtend doesn’t work with Netbeans, so it is not really a reasonable option if you want to use jme3 IDE.

Another suggestion: instead of CollisionResults implementing iterable, just exposing the internal ArrayList of results directly (or wrapped with Collections.unmodifiableList) seems like it would be preferable It’d make for a simpler CollisionResults object (wouldn’t have to re-implement the Iterable API and bits of the Collection API, like size) and would make it a little easier for clients, too. For example, assuming “results” is of type List<CollisionResult>, your Java 8 code would actually look like this:
[java]