Documentation contributions

I notice that some documentation, particularly regarding the source location and building instructions, are out of date. How can one contribute here?

Matt

2 Likes

The instructions are for building the stable 3.0 version and for that they are still up to date. For building the development version the actual final way to build isn’t clear yet.

Generally, to contribute simply log into the wiki with your user account.

I didn’t know we may logon with our hub accounts on Wiki. But for me it doesn’t works, keep saying wrong username and password. Maybe because I logon with Github credentials.

I also log in here via github. You say the final way to build isn’t yet clear? It looks as though someone has recently put quite some work into the gradle build. TBH I hadn’t checked out the old Ant build (as a longtime Ant developer I have yet to find an Ant build I couldn’t improve upon). These days I lean toward Maven, personally. :slight_smile:

Heheh… maven is to gradle as beating your fingers with a hammer is to typing.

Gradle = maven++ - XML. And still better than that.

Gradle is the current way to build 3.1… not sure what part isn’t final about it, though.

Dunno… I was always very enthusiastic about a DSL-based build, until I saw Gradle. :wink: I haven’t looked deeply at it since it was first introduced, but my biggest disappointment with it is that AFAICT it’s not super-trivial to import a Gradle project into Eclipse, my IDE of choice. Eclipse Maven integration is great IMO; a working Maven build just works in Eclipse with m2e.

I include the eclipse plugin in my build.gradle files for work and no one complains so far. I don’t know enough about modern eclipse to say if the native support for it has improved but I don’t normally judge a build tool by how well an IDE I don’t use supports it. :slight_smile:

Yeah, I did put that work in.