Example projects

I am new to JMonkeyEngine and returning to Java after twenty years. To get a better understanding of the architecture of a multiclass game, I am looking for example projects. Does anyone know where I can find some?

I keep running into scoping problems and am looking for ways to - i.e. - use assetmanager in other than the main class.

Is there also a place where I can find extensive documentation on all classes, their properties and methods with a somewhat more explanation than the JavaDocs? And why are the JavaDocs not searchable?

2 Likes

We have the jMonkeyEngine Documentation :: jMonkeyEngine Docs.

Using assetmanager… Appstates is typically the way to go. They have the binding method where you can get the assetManager reference. But surely you can just pass the instance around to any class you have. Just modifying the actual scenegraph you need to be in render thread (or enqueue it to be processed on the render thread).

We have also the examples. But these are typically very small specific examples rather than architectural examples. You can find these from jME Github. Or if using the SDK you can just create a new project with the said examples initialized for you.

For more complete examples… I’d search Github with jme & jmonkeyengine tags. Also semi frequent topic here in the forums.

2 Likes

There are some examples here:

They are mostly networking examples but can show how a game can be broken up into different classes and have examples of app states and so on… all of which are useful to understanding recommended JME game structure.

sim-eth-basic - is a simple networked spaceship “game” (no actual shooting implemented or anything) where you can login and fly spaceships around. This is using a classic “game object” architecture.

sim-eth-es - is the same “game” except using an entity system instead of plain game objects.