Exception playing Anim with an ArmatureMask

I just downloaded 2 models (from a new artist that I have never used used before), but
now I’m having trouble using both of them with an ArmatureMask in JME with the latest version of the engine (v3.6.1-stable)

As soon as I play an animation using an ArmatureMask, the app crashes with the following exception:

java.lang.ClassCastException: class com.jme3.scene.Node cannot be cast to class com.jme3.anim.Joint (com.jme3.scene.Node and com.jme3.anim.Joint are in unnamed module of loader 'app')
	at com.jme3.anim.ArmatureMask.contains(ArmatureMask.java:65)
	at com.jme3.anim.tween.action.ClipAction.doInterpolate(ClipAction.java:27)
	at com.jme3.anim.tween.action.BlendableAction.interpolate(BlendableAction.java:84)
	at com.jme3.anim.AnimLayer.update(AnimLayer.java:270)
	at com.jme3.anim.AnimComposer.controlUpdate(AnimComposer.java:402)
	at com.jme3.scene.control.AbstractControl.update(AbstractControl.java:118)
	at com.jme3.scene.Spatial.runControlUpdate(Spatial.java:743)
	at com.jme3.scene.Spatial.updateLogicalState(Spatial.java:922)
	at com.jme3.scene.Node.updateLogicalState(Node.java:228)
	at com.jme3.scene.Node.updateLogicalState(Node.java:239)
	at com.jme3.app.SimpleApplication.update(SimpleApplication.java:265)
	at com.jme3.system.lwjgl.LwjglAbstractDisplay.runLoop(LwjglAbstractDisplay.java:160)
	at com.jme3.system.lwjgl.LwjglDisplay.runLoop(LwjglDisplay.java:225)
	at com.jme3.system.lwjgl.LwjglAbstractDisplay.run(LwjglAbstractDisplay.java:242)
	at java.base/java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:833)

If I use this code to play any animation using an ArmatureMask (regardless of which Joints the mask contains), the app crashes with the exception above:

ArmatureMask mask = new ArmatureMask(skinningControl.getArmature());

animComposer.makeLayer("RootLayer", mask);

animComposer.setCurrentAction("Walk_F_IP", "RootLayer");  //crashes