Falling Stars: War of Empires, turn-based strategy game 2 years in the making

Now on kickstarter!

Now on Steam Greenlight!

Falling Stars: War of Empires is a single player and multiplayer turn-based strategy game, where players vie to control the galaxy through politics, space warfare, exploration, bartering with planetary inhabitants and more. It currently has a working online multiplayer mode, but I’m working on single player and AI still. Most of my work has just been getting things working with multiplayer since it was what I was most worried about (and rightly so)

JMonkey specific libs I’m using:
Shaderblow
Tonegod particle system (love it!!!)
Nifty Gui
SpiderMonkey

I’ve been developing Falling Stars for the last two years or so, and it’s really started coming together over the past 6 months. with some great graphical and UI improvements already implemented, and more on the horizon, I’ll probably have a lot of updates to post here about the project.

What separates Falling Stars from other strategy games is the level of strategy it focuses on. There is no micro-management, no AI to run your empire for you, it’s all about making big decisions that have a huge impact on the game. Every action you take can have vast consequences, whether it be choosing to work with the inhabitants of a planet to form barters in lieu of outright conquering them, or being forced to hold a planet in enemy territory and loses trade agreements with their allies, the strategy can be very intricate.

As I mentioned, we already have a good start on the graphics. Here are a couple screenshots and gifs to whet your pallets:

Battle!

Galaxy overview

Political agenda

Thanks for checking this out!

16 Likes

Looks promising =)

1 Like

Looks fantastic!

1 Like

Nice work, congrats!

1 Like

nice work!!

Very pretty.

So… when can I play it? :smile: