Fayd

Hi all.
I’m really new to jMonkey so I don’t know if this is the right place to post.
Anyway … with this post I want to announce my game I am currently starting with.
It is called Fayd and it will be kind of like a mix between Fable and Elder Scrolls.
I just started development and I am really new to 3D programming so I thought I start this post so whenever I have problems I would post them here.
I am also happy if I could use some of your methods and ideas because like I said I’m really new to 3D programming.
But before you post any of your work I want you to know that I want my game to be commercial since I’m still a student :).

So if you have questions or want to help me just post under this topic, send me a message or send me an e-mail (which doesn’t work sometimes because a lot of e-mails go into my junk folder).

3 Likes

Quick suggestion for when problems arise:

If they are game specific (i.e. has nothing to do with JME functionality, classes, etc), do post them here… it’s a great way of keeping your thoughts organized.

If they are not game specific, you will likely not get an answer in a timely fashion, as the devs and other members won’t realize it is a JME specific question. So, this case, I would suggest starting a separate thread.

The game sound really interesting, I’m looking forward to seeing/hear about your progress as you go!

1 Like

I don’t know where to post this so I just post it here …
I have been playing around with terra monkey and post processed water and sgolds’ SkyControl.

Here’s the result:

So I have a few questions concerning these methods.
First, can you make the water infinite or make a bottom skydome which looks like water because I think it looks ugly when the sky dome starts above the water.
Second, should I rather make a whole big world for my game or should I make instances?
Third, is it possible to get the FPS higher?