First game with OpenStreetMap scene

Hi there. I am new to JME3 and so far just downloaded the SDK and went through parts of the basic tutorials. On my mind is a network game where multiple players can run through ‘their city’. Tasks/Adventures will have to come later.

Has someone already managed to convert OpenStreetMap data into an scene? Would an attempt do to so be feasible at all?

I found

but it seems there is no further feedback of the outcome, let alone the result would be open source so I can use it as well.

Yes it can be done. @pspeed posted a demo few years ago:

1 Like

That looks great and is definitely good enough for my purpose.
What would I have to do so I can use that code or feature? Is it part of JME? Is it an addon? Is there some documentation about it?

Or should I fire all these questions to @pspeed directly?

1 Like

It’s a bunch of hastily written prototype code but I’ll see if I can remember where I put it.

I used to do a lot of GIS work a long time ago so most of the data-related issues were already familiar to me… which is why I was able to hack some code together over a weekend or so.

2 Likes

OpenStreetMap is a great data source, but getting it into a realtime rendering isn’t trivial (it’s not impossibly difficult either, but plan to spend some good time on the project if you want more than basic data display).

Maybe I start with some custom level drawn by hand based on openstreetmap.
After all for the first scenario there is much more to do than just the world…

Here is the source code to my racing prototype stuff I was working on:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/11GkqGFLGJfIL3uJz5ZkArq2cW-4dwQ5Q/view?usp=sharing

It’s really raw and message but hopefully you can see how I load and convert the OSM files into something useful.

It probably won’t run without the right OSM files and may require some locally built dependencies, I don’t remember. I think it also wants some geotiffs for elevation and tree cover and stuff.