FrameBuffer Help

Hello,
I was trying to get a framebuffer to render a quad to a texture but the texture appears to be completely black for some reason…
I am new to this so is there anything obviously wrong that I am doing?
Code:
[java]
public void simpleInitApp() {

Material mat = new Material(assetManager, "Common/MatDefs/Misc/Unshaded.j3md");
	mat.setColor("Color", new ColorRGBA(1,0,0,1));
	drawQuad(mat);
	ByteBuffer data = BufferUtils.createByteBuffer( (int) ((int)Math.ceil(Format.RGBA16F.getBitsPerPixel() / 8.0) * 256 * 64));
	Image img = new Image();
	img.setHeight(64);
	img.setWidth(256);
	img.setData(data);
	img.setFormat(Format.RGBA16F);
	Texture2D tex = new Texture2D(img);
	FrameBuffer fb = new FrameBuffer(256,64,1);
	fb.addColorTexture(tex);
	viewPort.setOutputFrameBuffer(fb); 
	drawQuad(mat);

}

public void drawQuad(Material mat){

Vector2f dl = new   Vector2f(-1.0f, -1.0f);
	 Vector2f dr = new  Vector2f(1.0f, -1.0f);
	 Vector2f ul = new   Vector2f(-1.0f, 1.0f);
	 Vector2f ur = new   Vector2f(1.0f, 1.0f);

Vector2f[] vertices = new Vector2f[]{dl,dr,ul,ur};

int[] index = new int[]{0,1,2, 1,3,2};

Mesh m = new Mesh();

m.setBuffer(Type.Position, 2, BufferUtils.createFloatBuffer(vertices));
	 m.setBuffer(Type.Index, 2, BufferUtils.createIntBuffer(index));

Geometry geo = new Geometry("Mesh", m);
	 geo.setMaterial(mat);

rootNode.attachChild(geo);
}

}
[/java]

Thanks for any help!

1 Like

What are you doing with the output of the frame buffer? Are you trying to rendered it to file? to screen?

if you’re end goal is to render to screen, you need to create another offscreen viewport to render the texture. As it stands you switch the main vp’s framebuffer and this would result in a black screen.

I am currently not doing anything with it… I am just using ImageRaster to print all of the pixels…

@joshngu9 said: I am currently not doing anything with it... I am just using ImageRaster to print all of the pixels...