Fresh & shiny road like in GTA V in jME

[spoiler]
[/spoiler]

Hi, I am a noob. I want to make a road in jME that looks like roads in gta 5. I downloaded a road texture from the internet, created a material in jME sdk’s material editor with specular & normal maps and I was pretty happy with the result. But when I don’t see sun specular, the road looks like a s***. I found that Gta 5 road also reflects blue sky color, I think it can be done in jME with multiple specular light sources. So now I have a few questions.

1. What lights (directional, point etc) are reflected in jme specular?
  2. Can I set two or more specular on one material? Is it possible to do that with built-in buttons/api?
  3. Can I manually set light’s specular direction / position

Thanks! Sorry for my poor english

I dont think its lights, it is more likely a reflected environment map.

I don’t think that it actually reflects the sky (That would require huge power), it’s maybe lit by a “blue lamp” or an ambient one.

And the other one is meant like: “it only works when I have a light spatial”? (This is usual and I guess it works for next to any light (except from ambient)

Maybe someone corrects me, but I would say that you can only have one specular map per material (And I wouldn’t see a reason why you would change that. Shinyness is Shinyness, how would it look like with multiple?)
But: You can have multiple Materials applied to some additional geometry (like a plane just above the road for each material)

At first you should set smooth normals to the road model,than read this: http://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/doku.php?id=jme3:advanced:materials_overview

Try mixing some Lighting.jm3d’s booleans and see the result.I think WardIso is what you’re searching for :smile:

Reflecting the skybox is not really expensive. I agree with Empire that it looks like a reflected environment map, with some roughness/shinyness material textures…

Just a guess …