Grabbing light without a normal?

Hello guys, I’m new to jMonkeyEngine but I like it a lot already.

But I ran into a problem and was wondering if there was a simple solution. I’m making a 3d environment with “2d” (flat) characters.

I’m loving how easy it has been to add in normal maps and lighting and such but it seems like there has to be a normal attached to each polygon.

Is there any way to have a polygon that will accept light in any direction?

Or a way to grab the light information from a specific point in 3d space?

Here’s a picture of my progress so far:

I didn’t set the normal for the character sprites but they seem to default to something. If I move the light behind the character it will go dark.

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

1 Like

You can use the Unshaded material, and that will ignore the lights. Or you could attach a light to the node of your character, and have it sit in front: between the character and the screen.

Your game looks good so far :smiley:

1 Like
@Sploreg said:
You can use the Unshaded material, and that will ignore the lights. Or you could attach a light to the node of your character, and have it sit in front: between the character and the screen.

Thanks but yeah I figured out those two ideas earlier, but I don't want to make a new light for each entity and attach it. I want to be able to grab the current light from the area.

I was thinking of making two small triangles with normals in each six directions then seeing if I could find a way to grab the light value from the vertex and apply it to an Unshaded value. I'm gonna try that in a bit, I just wanted to see if there was like a world.getLightValue(x,y,z) function of some sort.

@WASD said:
Your game looks good so far :D

I stole the character sprite for now, everything is just getting set up. Just working my way into learning this engine.

What appends if you dont specify a normal buffer? btw, I suggest using the unshaded material however