Hello everyone!

Hey everyone,

I’m new to the jMonkeyEngine Community and wanted to say hi :)!

I found the jMonkeyEngine some days ago and lurked around the forums, reading guides, discussion and other things.

About Myself
There is not much to say about myself. My name is Oskar, I’m 23 y/o and doing an apprenticeship as a developer for about 1.5 - 2 years now. I’m mainly working with Java as programming language and I guess my programming skills could be described as intermediate. I often find it hard to learn things in programming and I wouldn’t say that IT is my “natural habitat”, but I think one of my best characteristics is, that I like to learn new stuff and I don’t give up before I didn’t achieve what I wanted.

What do I want here?
I always enjoyed playing video games and for sure I always dreamed of creating my own game. Who didn’t :P?

Nevertheless, I know that creating your own game is associated with lots of work, time, efforts, money and so on. I don’t have in mind to create a super fancy and functional game. I rather want to improve my skills as a programmer and get to know some 3D game programming concepts.

I’d like to create a voxel-based game where the terrain can be created/modified/destroyed at any time. So far I’ve read several articles on the internet about the voxel concept and I think I’ve read every voxel-related thread on the forums here. The most important thing that came to my attention is that creating/starting with voxel-based games is really hard and not a good idea to start with.

Well, I thought it is a good idea to start with the very basic tutorials, since I have absolutetly 0 experience in game development.

What did I do so far?

Well, there are some things I have done so far.

• Downloaded jMonkeyEngine SDK
  • Set-up a SimpleApplication following this guide
  • Read the guide “Math for Dummies” to get a basic understanding of vectors
  • Read the guide “Scenegraph for Dummies”