How to access depth buffer in shader

I am currently working on a simple water shader. To create a foam effect I would like to read the depth from the depth buffer in the frag shader.

Is there any way to access this information?

if you need only the depth of the current fragment, in the fragment shader of your material you can use

gl_FragCoord.z

Unfortunately I need the depth of the depth buffer…

Well that would be the depth of the depth buffer for the specific fragment. If you need to access the entire depth buffer then you need to use filters. There is already a filter implementing water, maybe you can use it as starting point

Accessing the Depth Buffer from a fragment shader

float z = gl_FragCoord.z / gl_FragCoord.w;

I studied that shader, it does not do the stuff I need. No foam, no refragmentation.

i get that, you can implement your own filter

#version 330 core
out vec4 FragColor;

float near = 0.1; 
float far  = 100.0; 

float LinearizeDepth(float depth) 
{
    float z = depth * 2.0 - 1.0; // back to NDC 
    return (2.0 * near * far) / (far + near - z * (far - near));	
}

void main()
{             
    float depth = LinearizeDepth(gl_FragCoord.z) / far; // divide by far for demonstration
    FragColor = vec4(vec3(depth), 1.0);
}

Depth Testing

1 Like

This does not take the depth from the depth buffer. I do not need the depth of the current fragment.

Please read my previous comments: I need to know the depth of the underlying terrain. This can be acchieved by forcing the terrain to be rendered first and then reading the ZBuffer.

gl_FragCoord is just the coord of the current fragment. It does not tell me anything about the rest of the world. For refraction and foam I need to know about the rest of the world.

If it were me, I’d take the existing full screen post process water, cut and paste it into my own code, and gut it to do what I want.