How to use engine,i am noobie

i am new to this jmonkey engine,i know fundametals of java and i am intersted to devalop games using java ,i need some guidence for doing or making games ,i dont know how to start and how to pratice ,anyone help?

Click the wiki link in nav bar at top or left. Click and read all the other links there to.

2 Likes

Hello H,

Wow, that a tall order when starting from scratch but I guess we all do something like that in life since birth.

OK

Well, thats a help indeed, but you will need to have some footing in the “fundamentals of Math” as in Vectors, Quaternions for rotation…but before that I would suggest getting some BASIC fundamentals (sans Quaternions), here is a link, not the best but also not the worst…

http://immersivemath.com/ila/index.html

Its at least a start, you have a valid question but its quite a tall order.

Well, I recently (no put down) remembered that there is this thing called “the web”. (I lost my book and forgot to use the web for the pdf version :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye: ). So in my library of resources I found: (You can get the pdf versions of these books!!!)

1.) A Game Design Vocabulary - Anna Anthropy, Naomi Clark (Addison Wesley)
2.) Beginning Java 8 Games Development - Wallace Jackson (Apress)
3.) Designing the User Experience of Game Development Tools - David Lightbown (CRC Press)

THE BEST RESOURCE, She has the whole idea from 20,000 ft view to close up…EXCEPTIONAL Resource!!!
4.) Game Design Essentials - Briar Lee Mitchell (Sybex)

Then of course since you are here look at the great JME Tutorials (AFTER) you get the idea of how to make games then ask yourself WHAT kind of game do you want to make. Don’t go for a massive multi player Ninja dark knight wargame, try PONG!!!

The JME Tutorials are at:
https://jmonkeyengine.github.io/wiki/jme3.html