How to use Jmonkey in another IDE

Hi guys, so I need to use another IDE to use jme(the SDK is not fully updated and I need some of the newer versions features).

Could someone help me setup a jme project in another ide or code editor(any is fine). I know this is a lot to ask for but to be honest, I have no idea what I’m doing.

I’m not ashamed to admit this, I’m a total rookie and this is probably a very trivial matter but I’m confused because there isn’t an in depth guide on this.

I know you’re supposed to download the libraries and include them but that’s about all I know. I don’t know the specific nuances of setting it up.

Please forgive my ignorance, this is my first experience making a full project with programming, I apologize in advance if I ask some pretty dumb questions.

Anyways thank you guys!

What IDE are you using?

I’m using VSCode but I’d prefer it to be possible with Geany(since my teacher loves geany)

We’ve been working on https://start.jmonkeyengine.org/ which will create a starter template using gradle. Then you can open that in any IDE that understands gradle (I’d suggest intellij) or even an IDE that doesn’t understand gradle and build through the command line.

It’s a work in progress so it would be good to hear about any issues you experience (known issues include that the mac deployment isn’t quite right and that’s something i plan to work on today)

5 Likes

Wow this looks really good. I’ll give it a try and see how it works.

2 Likes

Do you plan to have that a stand alone to run locally on their machine?

Sorry, know very little about it. I use it for PHP designing my companies website, never used it for Java.
I use Eclipse, IntelliJ or JME (Netbeans). I don’t like Netbeans, I don’t like the speed of it. It performs slowly on my machine.

The idea of the initializer is that it produces a zip that people can download. So yes, it ends up with a jmonkey project being run locally