How was JMonkeyEngine created?

2D games are just images moving up and down on the screen, but 3D games are amazing, jME have to draw 3D shapes on the moving screen, calculating physical and shadows from the perspective of a camera, this is extraordinary. My question is how the “Core Developer” managed this knowledge.

:smile:

Practice.

2 Likes

…and using a lot of info about math that some people generously don’t keep for themselves but make public :wink:

3 Likes

But yeah… we rock…

6 Likes

If you want to look a bit deeper in creating an engine, you could watch the tutorials of Thin Matrix. It isn’t such a large engine like jMonkey, but you will soon get an idea of what has to be done.

Sure! That’s why we are here!

1 Like

I will watch these tutorials, thanks!

Yes, you (by you I mean all of you) do rock. Not probably said often enough! Thanks.

“3D Game Engine Design” (Eberly)
“Game Coding Complete” (Mc Shaffry)

Yes of coarse . Thanks all of you . I am an amateur member and do my best to be a member of this rock group . I wish I can :grinning:

…here is the one of the best videos about making 3D engine you could have…its straightforward, doesnt include any API to clog you over topic and it starts from simple line and dot and evolve in to full 3d engine (Doom3 , sort of)…extremely well presented whats going on behind scene of any 3d engine in its fundamentals…enjoy…

1 Like
  1. Some crappy OpenGL tutorials which are probably 404 pages right about now
  2. A few academic papers that happened to have code samples (the ones that didn’t were too incomprehensible and thus promptly thrown in the bin)
  3. Late weekends where a head banging on desk was a common theme

But yeah, anyone can write their own game engine. They are mostly similar to each other anyway.

3 Likes

Which kind of metrics do you use to measure how much awesome something is? :smile:

Hi