I need help with adding "full bright" to my first person game

So, I am trying to add a “full bright” system to my game. I have tried adding an ambient light and the sun light from the wiki, but I have a city model and random places are dark, so I need to remove shadows or have everywhere have light. A little like Minecraft full bright if you know what that is. I have looked all over online and there seems to be nothing. I am pretty new to Jmonkey so any help is welcome!

Minecraftstyle lighting is prebaked. I.e. it is calculated ahead of time (in minecrafts case whenever a block changes) and then its baked into the geometry itself. This is completely othogonal to adding light sources etc.

If your ambient light source isnt working it could just be a lack of a light probe, depending on what type of lighting you are using?

Both types of lighting work fine in jmonkey but its worth being sure which one you want.

If you literally want everything at 100% brightness thats also possible, just use the unshaded material; no shadows no light. But that is not minecraft style lighting and will look very flat (and probably not very good)

Welcome :wink:

Ye, minecraft use little different system as i know, it is “flood light”. JME blocky engines/games use it as i know.

Well we do not see Code and do not see result, so cant tell.

I can only tell it works for me. Maybe you use PBR model without probe or maybe you put ambient light incorrectly. Without more information, cant tell. If possible, please provide more information.

You can try adding a light probe to the scene:

EnvironmentCamera envCam = new EnvironmentCamera();
stateManager.attach(envCam);
envCam.setPosition(new Vector3f(0f, 0f, 0f));
envCam.setBackGroundColor(ColorRGBA.White);
LightProbeFactory.makeProbe(envCam, rootNode, new JobProgressAdapter<>() {
    @Override
    public void done(LightProbe result) {
        result.getArea().setRadius(100f);
        rootNode.addLight(result);
    }
});