Importing models with animations from Blender

Hi guys. I have trouble importing some animated 3d models (.blend) to JME.

I have no experience in Blender or in 3d models in general.

The models I’m trying to use can be found here:

http://opengameart.org/users/botanic

They are the ‘Animated Priest, Mage, Knight’, etc. models.

First of all, I have installed the OgreXML plugin for Blender but there are too many export options and I am not sure which ones to enable.

I have managed to export the models to .mesh.xml and .skeleton.xml files, by unchecking “Separate materials”, “Export scene”, “Export selected only”, “Force camera” and “Force lamps” and renaming the exported files accordingly.

However, I cannot find the animatons. I open the .skeleton.xml file in a text editor and I only see one animation called “my_animation”, unlike the Ninja model of JME where there are many different animations.

Also, in some of the models (Animated Knight, Animated Berzerker, Animated Cerberus), Blender strangely does not export a .skeleton.xml file at all.

Furthermore, when I try to load a model from my program, it crashes. This occurs even when I have converted it to .j3o using the jMonkey SDK.

The line that causes the crashing is the last line of this code:

[java] /** Load a model that contains animation /

Node mage = (Node) assetManager.loadModel(“Models/Mage/mage.j3o”);

mage.setLocalTranslation(0, 5, -30);

rootNode.attachChild(mage);

/
* Create a controller and channels. */

AnimControl control = mage.getControl(AnimControl.class);

control.addListener(this);[/java]

and the output is the following:

[java]SEVERE: Uncaught exception thrown in Thread[LWJGL Renderer Thread,5,main]

java.lang.NullPointerException

at mygame.Main.testAnimation(Main.java:334)

at mygame.Main.simpleInitApp(Main.java:99)

at com.jme3.app.SimpleApplication.initialize(SimpleApplication.java:231)

at com.jme3.system.lwjgl.LwjglAbstractDisplay.initInThread(LwjglAbstractDisplay.java:129)