Is JMokey Right for me?

Hi guys,

I am working on a desktop application. It’s not exactly a game, but I think using tools to make games will help me do what I want. Here is an example of the kind of look I am going for, for my application:

So I need a 3D view inside an interface with the typical swing components and such. I should be able to pan/zoom the 3D view, and do some basic interacting with it. Essentially, I just need the 3D view to have a grid with squares. When I click a square, it selects it by showing the square kind of extrude out of the grid. That’s the basic thing I’m going for.

So is JMonkey right for me? Or is something else more appropriate? Thanks for your help. Please let me know if you need more detail, and I would appreciate any advice you may have,

Note: I am an intermediate programmer.

The issue is mainly with integrating swing and the opengl thread when you use jmonkey which might be hard to get right for an intermediate programmer. Apart from that no general reason why it would not work, the SDK basically looks the same :slight_smile:
The content of this post is meant to be read as a straight information or question without an implicit dismissive stance or interest in having the other party feel offended unless theres emotes that hint otherwise or theres an increased use of exclamation marks and all-capital words.

@normen said: The issue is mainly with integrating swing and the opengl thread when you use jmonkey which might be hard to get right for an intermediate programmer. Apart from that no general reason why it would not work, the SDK basically looks the same :) The content of this post is meant to be read as a straight information or question without an implicit dismissive stance or interest in having the other party feel offended unless theres emotes that hint otherwise or theres an increased use of exclamation marks and all-capital words.