Is there a better way to do resetPosition()?

Hi all,

Firstly, sorry if this is a common question - I'm new to this and it's quite possible my search keyword selection isn't quite optimal yet.

I'm building a simulator that includes an object that I need to occasionally teleport. I've been looking at the TestAdvancedVehicle.java example and how setPosition() is implemented. In that case, the nodes down the graph need to implement resetPosition (which resets their location relative to the parent node to some stored offset) and need to make sure they also call resetPosition on their children.

Problem is (apart from needing to maintain resetPosition), I believe that this means that everything gets reset (funnily enough), including joint angles and the like, if the resetPosition() chain involves objects on both sides of the joint (basically everything gets reset to whatever the original offsets were). What if I just want to move a whole object (comprised of a node plus all of its children and with some parts linked with joints) and preserve all the joint angles/translations? I can think of a couple of ways of traversing the node graph to do this but before I reinvent the wheel, is there a standard (or particularly smart/efficient) way of doing this sorta thing?

I've currently got it happening by using solid joints instead of resetPosition (and relying on joint resolution to keep things together) but of course if I teleport across a wall or something it probably isn't going to work. It probably also means my localTranslations get incrementally more and more offset - not sure if this will be a problem.

Tnx :slight_smile:

Hi! Good question.

I am not an expert but I believe that yes, you need to recursively reposition all children nodes, applying transformations if needed.

jjmontes said:

Hi! Good question.

I am not an expert but I believe that yes, you need to recursively reposition all children nodes, applying transformations if needed.