JDK 8, lambda expressions and other features

if( ! First of all, are there plans to release JME3 SDK with JDK8? ){
Has anyone tried to run the SDK with JDK8?

Can I just plug it into JME3 SDK or it wont work?

Any good reason I should stay with JDK7?

If I move to the new netbeans (or eclipse) + JDK8, what I will loose are the management features, like assets management right? I am a lone developer, mainly a coder (a self.negation() in assets creation), so I am not sure if that will be trouble later…

Also, do you think I could run both? the JME3 SDK to assets management and other specific things, and the new netbeans+JDK8 for coding and running it all?
}

Hi,

You can use jme3 SDK with a project in jdk8 :

• you setup SDK with
    1. use your jdk8 to launch the SDK (see Specifying the JDK location in wiki / sdk:troubleshooting
    2. register a platform in the SDK for jdk8
    3. use this platform with your project.
  • you should not use custom controller, custom savable with your asset, because assetManager will continue to run on jdk 7
  • you will not be able to use jdk8 features of the IDE (netbeans 7 doesn’t any) Editor will not help you with jdk8 new syntax.

I mainly stop using SDK with jdk8 project.

If you want to use SDK feature (Assets viewer,…) with jdk8, I suggest you to use netbeans 8, register SDK update-site, add plugins from SDK update-site.

EDIT:
There were some missing step, in my instructions. and wrong sentences. Thanks to @normen for the correction

@DavidBernard, seems plain simple! much more simple than what I was thinking to do hehe. As soon I can I will give it a try thanks!!

@DavidBernard

I cant install almost anything :frowning:
“The plugin Java SE Projects is requested in implementation version 46”

it is related to this I think: http://hub.jmonkeyengine.org/forum/topic/solved-java-lang-nosuchmethoderror-com-jme3-renderer-rendermanager-renderfv/, it was not compiled against that netbeans8 base plugin Java SE Projects.