Job as Game Programmer

Does anyone know where I could find a job as a game programmer?

I’m currently in 3th year of Software Engineering bachelors. At the moment I got a temp job as a PHP API programmer, but that’s boring as hell.

Since the moment I started learning myself to program (when I was 11), I wanted to make games. At that time, I made games with Flash AS2.

Currently, I’ve been programming Java for like 3 years nonstop now. My teachers say I’m the best in class, but that’s probably because the others don’t program in their free time, plus they probably started programming when they entered collage, which is about 6 years after I started programming.

I can program/script Java, PHP, SQL and can understand HTML/CSS. I don’t know any C languages, but I don’t know if that’s even needed these days, and besides that, I can learn it pretty fast.

Anyway, I’m 19 years old, and I live in the Netherlands (in Gouda).

Any chance I’ll ever find a job as a game programmer? Or is it better if I start making games on my own, and slowly creating my own company?

I think you should create some smaller game and really put effort into them so you have something to show when applying for a game developer position. I don’t really know, but I think there are more developers willing to make games than there are positions so a strong portfolio would be start :slight_smile:

Hmmm, I’m currently working on a MMORPG idea that I got, altho I never made a multiplayer game, or 3D game, before.

Should I start with easy projects (like singleplayer 2D/3D games), or immediately go for multiplayer games?

certainly go step by step. there are so many problematic topics that you need learn one by one.

@patrickvane1993 said:
Hmmm, I'm currently working on a MMORPG idea that I got, altho I never made a multiplayer game, or 3D game, before.
Should I start with easy projects (like singleplayer 2D/3D games), or immediately go for multiplayer games?