Lighting a custom mesh

Hi,

I’m quite new to the JME, just working on my first real project. First: Thanks to the team for all this. Nice job. My question is about custom meshes. I’d like to use them and took the sample “Creating a Quad Mesh” from the custom meshes documentation as my starting point. Everything’s working fine as long as I stay with unshaded material. But I’m not able to correctly light the mesh. When switching to the “Lighting” material definition, the triangles are no longer fully visible. One of them is always “cut” somewhere in the middle (means it’s partly dark), sometimes both are. It looks different after every start. The picture is not even stable, it’s partly flickering. When I remove one of the triangles from the scene, the other one becomes completely dark. I think something important is missing or wrong in my code.

Also, I’m not sure about the face normal vector calculation. Do you have to do this manually for every face, as I do here? If so, am I doing it right?

The code is:

[java]Vector3f[] vertices = new Vector3f[] { new Vector3f(0,0,0), new Vector3f(3,0,0), new Vector3f(0,3,0), new Vector3f(3,3,2), new Vector3f(3,0,2), new Vector3f(0,3,2) };

int[] indexes = { 0,1,2, 4,3,5 };

Vector3f[] normals = new Vector3f[indexes.length / 3];

for (int i = 0; i < indexes.length / 3; i++)

normals = new Triangle(vertices[indexes[i*3]], vertices[indexes[i*3+1]], vertices[indexes[i*3+2]]).getNormal();

Mesh m = new Mesh();

m.setBuffer(Type.Position, 3, BufferUtils.createFloatBuffer(vertices));

m.setBuffer(Type.Index, 1, BufferUtils.createIntBuffer(indexes));

m.setBuffer(Type.Normal, 3, BufferUtils.createFloatBuffer(normals));

m.updateBound();

Geometry geom = new Geometry(“OurMesh”, m);

Material mat = new Material(assetManager, “Common/MatDefs/Light/Lighting.j3md”);

mat.setBoolean(“UseMaterialColors”, true);

mat.setColor(“Ambient”, ColorRGBA.Black);

mat.setColor(“Diffuse”, ColorRGBA.Red);

mat.setColor(“Specular”, ColorRGBA.White);