Lots of Physics

I do not understand the question. If you want to position your PhysicsNodes you will have to do so, theres no way around it even if its lots of them… What exactly is your problem?

I'd like a more efficient way of positioning my Blocks than creating a node for each. It may not be a big deal (I'm new to this), but it doesn't seem like the best way of handling the problem to me.

The only other way would be creating one big mesh that consists of all the single boxes and modifying that. Then you have only one object but eight times as many locations to update (the corners of the boxes).

If you want each box to be a PhysicsNode then this will not work however. If you want the whole thing to be one PhysicsNode (like a floor or something) it would be the only way to go. But then you should create some algorithm that simplifies the box-mesh after it has been created and before you compute the physics collision shape from it.

I do not quite understand your approach here, if you try to do some voxel-like thing where the 3d world does not consist of hollow meshes but of little "atoms" then forget about it. This way it will be way too computation and memory intense.

Cheers,

Normen

Ok. So you already have all those objects and want to be able to move them. If you want them to be movable physics objects you will have to do as you indicated in the first post, there is no way around that.

I'd suggest you create one BoxCollisionShape and use that to create all the PhysicsNodes that wrap your current box spatials (they are all the same size right?), this way you will save memory and some cpu cycles.

If you use the svn version of jbullet-jme (theres instructions on how to build it on the googlecode page) then I suggest using kinematic nodes (normal PhysicsNodes where setKinematic(true) has been called). Then they will not be affected by physics but affect the objects around them when they are moved and collide with them.