Make objects disappear when "walking into them"

Hello!

I’m kind of new to jmonkey but I’ve done all the 13 first beginner tutorials but I’m still wondering something.

In my game, I want a character which is suppose to collect stuff to get points. In the same way Sonic collects the gold rings. So I want to put the stuff (which is suppose to be collected) into the terrain in the scene composer, which is not a problem.

The problem is that I do not know how to make them disapperar when the character “walks into them”. Should they have some kind of physics like rigidbody och charactercontrol or what should I do?

// Thanks

1 Like

You can try detaching them from the rootNode or the parent node they have. That should work.

Hi!

That is what I’m planning to do, but I do not understand how I am supposed to detect the actual collision.

Thanks for replying :slight_smile:

Have you checked out http://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/doku.php/jme3:advanced:collision_and_intersection ?

Use the link @DannyJo provided. using ray or bounding boxes, that way you don’t have to use Bullet. That is depending on your project’s approach.

If you are using physics already you need to go a bit more advanced since it’e best to use Bullet collision listeners and stay with one way

Oh I thought I linked the other wiki page about collisions using Collidable with bounding boxes etc. as the OP mention he’d already gone through all the tutorials and this is a bit of an advanced extra topic :smiley:

Ooops, sorry :stuck_out_tongue: I had many tabs since I was doing some bullet tests and I got mixed up.

Or if the object are simple enough and you don’t acutally need any fancy collision (like the coins in mario or something like that) and your character should be able to walk through them, you could simply check the distance of the player position to the coin position.

Hello, thanks for answer!