Monkey Mahjongg - demo / tutorial

I thought some time which demo / tutorial would be the most helpful for total beginners, and contains stuff not covered e.g. in FlagRush. I thought about something like Mahjongh… oh, I can hear you: booooooring! But wait, here is the list we could cover with this:

• StandardGame, use of GameStatings
  • How to make a menu (ideally different versions to show JMEDesktop, BUI, FengGUI…)
  • Mouse picking, hardware and software cursor
  • how to make a HUD
  • Working with textures, e.g. highlighting the selected piece
  • shared nodes/meshes
  • dynamic lighting, shadows and other effects
  • sound
  • how to structure a project, how to load different levels
  • how to implement game logic

With this quite static environment, the beginner won't be overwhelmed from complicated code for motion etc. The demo could be very small, but well structured. I think especially making a good ingame menu is not covered enough in the existing demos. And even if you can find all the things mentioned here in several separate demos, I think that having a very simple but complete and structured demo would be a great help for beginners.

What do you think?

I'd like to work on something like this, but not alone. And my English is not good enough to make a good tutorial from this…

PS: You probably know the game, but here is an online 2D version: http://www.mah-jongg.ch/

Sounds like a good idea.  We definitely need more examples but the reason there aren't more now is because finding people that can commit the time necessary is difficult.

So this would be even a tutorial on how to setup a project, gather some people, assigning tasks and such. I'm a total noob on jME, so this would be the ideal start, because documenting something is the best way of learning it  :smiley:

But i would not take Mahjongg, but Pacman, there's more action involved. Or how about frogger?

Vardamir said:

Or how about frogger?

I don't think so.  :P
Vardamir said: