My (different ?) approach on Voxels

Hi Guys,

First of all I want to say some words about myself and why I’m here. I’m working for some years with java and would say I’m an experienced Java programmer by now, sure there is always room for improvement :slight_smile: just recently I started to look into 3d programming with a small hobby project,.The goal is to create a world editor for a Voxel game called blockscape which is written in C and has an open file format.
I started to write direct openGL code with lwjgl and learned alot about the openGL basics and maths some nice results for the basics like viewing one chunk (32x32x32) or to view a worldmap of all chunks.

As I started to scale up the hassle with alot of of common issues began with alot of common things and because I don’t want to program an engine from scrath I looked around and I found jMonkey :smiley:

So I quickly migrated to jMmonkey and must say I love it.

Ok enough talk back to the topic about voxels :slight_smile:

I will try to show my approach (however I am still at an early stage):

I am using a a tree Structure with 27 Nodes resembling the 3D space of the Cube only the bottom level has the actual chunks in it which I loaded from the game file.
This way my structure is able to scale into infinity if I unload branches into a DB or on disk cause the node can easily be identified.

Here a a shot of some rendered chunks, you can see the boarders of each chunk with the green lines

And this is an earlier version with a bigger scale of the Tree structure and a Level Of Detail that renders a chunk as Block if it has content

As you can see I’m currently have trouble with the textures :slight_smile:

Which leads to the next Level of detail, rendering the actual blocks.

At the moment I create 8 Vertices for each block without any texture coordinates and write them directly into a custom Mesh.