Noisy SSAO – no anti-aliasing

I’m new to jme but so far I like it.

I am playing with lighting and shadows and have noticed that the SSAO can be quite noisy (see below). Also, it doesn’t seem to work with anti-aliasing. Is there a way to enable both of these in jme or is it one or the other?

4xAA - no SSAO

SSAO - no AA

Edit: forgot to post code, even though it’s the same code you’ve all seen before.

[java]

private void setupSSAO() {

FilterPostProcessor fpp = new FilterPostProcessor(assetManager);

SSAOFilter ssaoFilter = new SSAOFilter(12.940201f, 43.928635f, 0.32999992f, 0.6059958f);

fpp.addFilter(ssaoFilter);

viewPort.addProcessor(fpp);

}

[/java]

Full code: http://pastebin.com/uBhcfPk2

Edit: Updated code, with SSAO and FXAA working in relative harmony: http://pastebin.com/vu1W1vJQ

This is normal afaik, using SSAO doesn’t let you use AA. You can try using the FXAA filter though.

SSAO is noisy, but it’s less noticeable if you have textured objects instead of plain colored ones.

You can use SSAO with AA, but there was an issue fixed recently about it, so maybe if you are using beta, you have this issue.

You can try FXAA as a workaround.

FXAA doesn’t work with small objects, stuff that are less then one pixel in size. They woun’t be anti aliased (obviously…). I noticed that with edges of branches, treetops etc. That makes this situation interesting to me.

Is the noise “flickering” or is it more or less static when you move the cam around? I’d like to know if FXAA works well in this particular case, if you are going to try it anyways.

@imdsm said:
[java]
private void setupSSAO() {
FilterPostProcessor fpp = new FilterPostProcessor(assetManager);
SSAOFilter ssaoFilter = new SSAOFilter(12.940201f, 43.928635f, 0.32999992f, 0.6059958f);
fpp.addFilter(ssaoFilter);
viewPort.addProcessor(fpp);
}
[/java]