Ogre 3D .mesh and skeleton VS .blend VS .gltf/glb

Hi i am new to JME3 and i want to know which 3d file format that jmonkeyengine 3 support it better for now ?
Regarding;

1. Animation
    2)Materials
    3)Blender modifiers
    4)3D details as mesh handling

is Ogre 3d xml is better than .blend and gltf/glb or .blend
Please inform me with detailed answer waiting for your reply thanks in advance.

1 Like

.gltf seems to be best and for sure its “future standard of export type”.

here you have Wiki page(recently updated):
https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/jme3/advanced/blender_gltf.html

Please note SDK spenegraph-animation controls will not work properly with 3.3 engine version(if you use it) Because engine was recently updated with new animation system. (3.3 is like alpha version)

It export Animation, Materials, Shapekeys(since 3.3 version). Blender Modifiers exporter have param “export modifiers” but it was not working some time ago, maybe fixed now. About point 4) i dont know what you mean.

this character was exported with .gltf on Beta 2.8

1 Like

Nice but i am using JME 3.2.4 is it support gltf ?

i remember that yes, but just no shape keys and it use different Animation controls (old ones - without some features)

sooner or later 3.3 will be stable, then you would need change this controls and their usage anyway.

where i can find 3.3 jme 3.3 ?

is 3.3 is better any fps performance increase ?

There are 3.3 builds on bintray (along with the older engine builds). You just need to bump the version number in your build scripts as long as they’re pulling from bintray already.