PBR Texture Packing

I’ve been toying with the pbr shaders and noticed that the AO texture isn’t packed with the metallic and roughness.

In the unreal documentation they outline their format as:

R = Metallic
G = Roughness
B = Ambient Occlusion

And in another UE article it’s:

R = Ambient Occlusion
G = Metallic
B = Roughness

Whereas ours is:

G = Roughness
B = Metallic

I’m not certain if there’s any kind of industry standard to the order then, but seems like packing AO in there is common practice.

I guess I should give @nehon a ping about it. if we just used the red channel it would avoid any issues for existing users. I’m not sure about how well one channel compresses vs the others or if that’s even taken into account either. Apparently DXT has a quirk where the green(?) channel compresses better or something. I’m no expert :confused:

“In the standard DXT compression, the Green channel has 1 extra bit compared to the R and B channels, which makes it 565. If you had an alpha to that, I believe it becomes 555+1.”

What about the height map? Is AO more important/commonly used?

Height map can already be packed with the normal map… which makes a ton more sense than packing it anywhere else.

Is the normal map supposed to be compressed into dxt5 then? Or be uncompressed and have one whole uncompressed channel for the height map?

IMO if the goal is saving memory, this is the layout that makes more sense

• dxt1
    • RGB albedo
  • dxt1
    • R metallic
    • G rough
    • B height
  • dxt1
    • RGB emission
  • rgtc2
    • RG normal

Unless ao is used more than heigh of course.

AO should not be used for height ?

It is also used in the lighting calculations.

What about alpha in the albedo channel?

There is also:

• SpecularMap
  • GlossinessMap

or the combined variant :

• SpecularGlossinessMap

Is it worth thinking about using the 4th channel in each map?

I don’t think so, unless you have a special case where it can be used