Physics for Arkanoid-like game

I’m relatively new to jME, I already followed the beginner tutorial and i was wondering how i could realize the physics of a game like Arkanoid (i think nearly all know it right? Link)

I suppose that the ball is controlled by a RigidBodyControl and it shouldn’t be affected by gravity (should it be kinematic?), but i don’t know how to get the bounce effect. I wanted to know if i’m taking the right way, if there is an easy way or if i should forget about physics for this kind of problems and playing around mathematic.

I’m not so good in English, but i hope it is understandable. Thanks in advance.

You don’t need to use physics per se for that, just change direction once you hit something

2 Likes

Yeah i suppose that’s the easier way.

However, just for information, is there an easy way to obtain a bounce like this with physics?

It could be usefull to know how to bounce things around if i will need it.

I’m sure there’s probably a way, but i doubt its easy, its a 3d physics engine, constrained to 2d space, i doubt it will end well :P, you might be better off looking into using slick2d if you really want to use physics so bad, but I don’t think you need it. Unless you doing something different? In the simplest case all you need to do, is add rigidbody/ghostcontrol to your objects with mass 0, listen for collision events and use trigonometry to move your ball, and whens theres a collision you interpret the available data and you do your action, which in its simplest case is just to inverse the axis which was hit. I believe pong was the first game created? uses same techniques

I was referring to some method or parameter to make something bouncy in general, not constrained in 2d space, because i was thinking to other kinds of games. You’re right on don’t using physics for this game and i won’t do it.