Pro camera library

Hello, I have been a photographer for more than 2 years. I got tired of trying to figure out camera frustum settings, so I created my own library for setting the camera with actual camera sensor sizes and lenses.

These two topics got me started:

I have created a demo, originally to show off to my class, but why not showcase it on the forum as well!

Here are some screenshots:

To create a lens you use:

LensDef lens = new LensDef("Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM")
            .setCanAutoFocus(true)
            .setFstop(2.8f, 22f)
            .setMaximumFocal(70f)
            .setMinimumFocal(24f)
            .setNearestFocus(0.38f)
            .usableWith(Sensor.FULLFRAME, Sensor.CANON_APS_C);

and to initialize the appstate you call: (an example)

CameraAppState camState = new CameraAppState(Sensor.FULLFRAME, lens.create ());

If you don’t want the depth of field filter you can call:

camState.setDofEnabled(false);

and no filter code will be called on initialization

You can download the program and source from this folder:
EDIT: now on github

Please tell me what you think!

15 Likes

Pretty cool.
I don’t know a thing about photography but that looks nice :wink:
Maybe you could setup your sources as a github repo?

Great! That’s exactly the spirit of indies and geeks and nerds! Can’t be crazy enough to be cool! :chimpanzee_closedlaugh: I love this. :+1:

This is great! I’m going to show this to someone who has been into photography for decades (as well as a programmer for decades). Going to see if this will be useful for my project, thanks!

It would be nice, as @nehon said to get it up on github or something similar.

I will do that once I finish documenting the library to make it easier for others to use

Hum. I tried to implement this library and I did everything above. My scene became invisible. I’m using the same town model. I don’t know what am I doing wrong.