Quad buffer stereo

I want some advice on how to implement quad buffer stereo with jME3. What I need is a way to render the scene twice. Once for each eye. Before each render I need to insert user code that changes the camera for the eye and call GL11.glDrawBuffer(GL11.GL_BACK_LEFT) and GL11.glDrawBuffer(GL11.GL_BACK_RIGHT).

The best reference on the forum I’ve found is this:

http://hub.jmonkeyengine.org/groups/general-2/forum/topic/stereoscopic-3d-as-post-processor/

I think AppSettings.setStereo3D(true) will enable hardware stereo as oOMoeOo requested in his post. However I don’t know where he inserted his code as I can not find SimpleModule in the jME javadoc.

I’m still a jME newbie so I’m hoping someone can suggest where to insert the code I need. I’ve thought about overriding SimpleApplication.update() as it calls the renderManager.render(…) method. But is there another way like setting up two viewports that cover the screen and hooking up a callback before each viewport is rendered.

Note: I’m ONLY interested in quad buffer stereo, NOT anaglyphic or side by side.

2 Likes

See here:

https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/legacy/doku.php/jme3:intermediate:appsettings

search for “quad buffer”. I think that you know that it requries you to have a proper videocard like nVidia Quadro or similar, which has the quad buffer, but I will say that anyway in case you’re not sure.

@noncom said:
See here:

https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/legacy/doku.php/jme3:intermediate:appsettings

search for "quad buffer". I think that you know that it requries you to have a proper videocard like nVidia Quadro or similar, which has the quad buffer, but I will say that anyway in case you're not sure.

Yes, as far as I can tell, setStereo3D will enable quad buffering on the driver. However if that is all I do I will only render to the left eye. I can not find any evidence that jME3 handles rendering left and right eye. What I'm wondering is how I can hack in this code.