Quaternion bug?

Hey guys:

I believe I found a minor bug. When obtaining the static Quaternion identity you are able to modify it. I’m not sure if this is by design or not, but I’m assuming its the latter.

I hadn’t worked with Java in a bit and I’m fairly new to jMe, so when creating a camera control I wrongly initialized the Quaternion I needed as Quaternion quat = Quaternion.Idenitity;. Needless to say any changes I made to the variable ended up changing the static Quaternion.Identity, and I didn’t find out until another module tried to obtain Quaternion.Identity and gave me the wrong values. It is a minor problem that I solved easy in my code, but I can see how others might find that problematic.

Thought I’d point that out in case it was by accident on the developers’ side.

3 Likes

There is no way for us to fix this. It’s just one of those things you have to be aware of as a developer: don’t modify the premade “constants”.

3 Likes

I’ll note that it also applies to many of the others like Vector3f.

I only found out because my Vector3f.UNIT_Y was suddenly not of unit length which caused unusual problems with the camera lookat method. Pretty much pulled the program apart trying to find how that happened.

3 Likes

This is no totally true. There is always the possibility to extent the desired classes overriding the needed methods to create an immutable version (at least for quaternions where members are all private). Am I wrong?

(I’m not saying it worth it)

1 Like

You are wrong, because vector is final class, so this fact helps JIT to make more aggressive optimizations for it

1 Like

Is the solution to duplicate/clone rather than reference?

2 Likes

It depends on what do you want to do with it, but it’s one of many options to solve this problem.

1 Like

In that case the solution isn’t hard (make it not final). The right answer in this case could be that it doesn’t worth the solution.

1 Like