Question about native deploy vs Excelsior JET and their native deployment

Hello all, it’s been awhile so I hope everyone has been well! Forum got a revamp(again), and looks pretty good so far :smile:

I just wanted to ask a question about the deployment options, since I am new to dealing with native deployment, and all that good stuff. (if this shouldn’t go here, please move).

It seems the main points of making a JAR file native is to not only get rid of the need for the user to DL the JRE(as it’s bundled) but to also protect the code, since it’s been compiled to native.

I am curious about the specifics about JMonkey’s deploy, and how it differs from other deployment options like Excelsior JET?

I also am using JavaFX(another project), and they have a native deployment as well which I’m interested in.

Could I use JMonkey to deploy other Java applications to Native, or is that discouraged?

So basically it comes down to, will the JMonkey/FX deployments be sufficient enough for most applications? Also is there any real reason to purchase something like Excelsior JET?

http://www.excelsiorjet.com/features

Thanks everyone!

Depends really on your needs I would say.
(Eg how dumb is your average user)

But you can always write your own buildscript if the ones provided do not cover your case.

JME’s deployment option needs the user to have JRE (bundled or installed on pc), it is only a exe launcher that starts the main jar file, so everything goes in the Java VM.
To protect the code there you need to use any obfuscator (PM me if anyone have some working & tested with JME solution).

Excelsior JET is just an different thing, as far as I know it compiles the jar and jre into platform dependant executable, so the resuling binary does not have any java’s bytecode and don’t need jre, even bundled one. And it is much more harder to hack.
Excelsior JET is not free, you need to pay for it.