Shading: Turbulence

Hmmm - Best Name for the Post i could think of.

I have learned a lot last days about shading in JME.
The output looks quite okay now. It wasn’t that easy to learn on how to import the models correctly and do all that stuff, like anything, which is new to someones mind…
No prob about that.

I have a question on shading, or what i best could do and as i am a beginner: If you have leadful hints, keep in mind, that i have problems with tooo many technical terms, even if i am wanting to learn anything needed :wink:

The Model i know render is an import from lightwave.
The original file is looking this way:

My modle now looks quite the same, after i wrote Material Files and applied all the textures, i have - quite all, but enough to move on ! :wink: The colonial plate will take another review later.

That’s ok, i like that.
Lightwave now applies something, which looks to me like a noise - it calls itself turbulence:

The output of this is astonishing:

I know, i am inside an game engine, where things should go fast, but is there a possibility that is cheap enough on time to go mor into this output ?
Could i shade it with some extras, or should i just repaint my texture to look a little bit more like that ?
Which approach is given for someone wanting to do that ?

Well if you want to do something similar, the only way fast enough is probably shaders.
Or you could just try to export the map the other applications generates internal?

Yeah can’t you bake the texture with the noise applied in lightwave? That’d be the easiest way IMO.

We’ll see at about 7, if i can bake them out of lightwave :wink:
Never did that befor :wink:

since now i only bake out black paintings ^^

Hahaaaa … Turbulence …
It’s a calculation of procedural texture applied 3 times, or am i wrong ?
The rest is self explaining
40% opaticity generated with a color and a random value called small power