Simple 2D Circle based on Torus

Hi,
I am pretty new to jme and game programming itself - but I have little bit of Java knowledge.
I wanted to draw a 2D circle. As far as I know jme does not have native libraries for this.

I thought about writing my own class, but that would probably be not performant at all.

I found two topics to this question, but one was using java awt (which I am sceptical if you should use the awt in jme - because they are two totally different Frameworks right?). (Link)
And for the other topic I did not get the code running. (Link)

In the second Link someone suggested using a Torus with a small outer radius. I took on that Idea, copied the Torus class and deleted everything which I thought to be not used for the 2D circle (unfortunately I don’t fully comprehend the Torus Code yet, so I am not sure how successful i was).

My question is: Is it bad to create a Circle like this? (except from the part that I do not really understand the whole Torus-Class Code)
Because I wonder why in both of the Forum-Topics nobody used the existing 3D classes to create a 2D circle.
Will the Code still be bloated and unperformant for 2D (e.g. because of inherited methods and variables)?

And a second question:
Is it correct that there are only the classes in “com.jme3.scene.shape” for things you can draw out of the box in jme?
Then I would need to modify an existing class again or write my own class to create for example a curved line, right?
(As far as I understand jme is primary for 3D usage and importing models rather than using 2D and draw in the application - but there is nothing wrong with using 2D and drawing in jme too - right?)

Thanks in advance for answers!
(I did not add the modified Torus class because of its length - but if it would help somehow I will do it)

What do you want to use the circle for? It may not seem important but it is.

I wanted to start with creating a simple stickman figure and the stickmen needs a head ^^.