Solid floor with boxes

Hi there,

I’m attempting to create a solid floor with unit boxes as the title of this topic suggests; only I’m fairly new to jME3 and 3D programming in general. Using the beginner tutorials I’ve attempted to create a function to create a floor and give each segment (Box) physical properties. This compiles, runs and works properly - only the fps drops to almost zero for a 20x20 floor. I have a HD4670 1GB gpu and 4GB of RAM so evidently it’s my programming and not my hardware causing the problem!

The function making this floor is:

Code:
private void initFloor(int x, int z) {
    Box[][] boxArray = new Box[x][z];
    Geometry geom;
    Material mat;
    boolean colourTicker = true;

for (int i=0; i<x; i++) {
        for (int j=0; j<z; j++) {
            Vector3f translationVector = new Vector3f((float)i, -2, (float)j);
            boxArray[i][j] = new Box(translationVector, 0.5f, 0.5f, 0.5f);

geom = new Geometry("Box", boxArray[i][j]);

mat = new Material(assetManager, "Common/MatDefs/Misc/Unshaded.j3md");

if (colourTicker) {
                mat.setColor("Color", ColorRGBA.DarkGray);
                colourTicker = false;
            }
            else {
                mat.setColor("Color", ColorRGBA.Red);
                colourTicker = true;
            }

geom.setMaterial(mat);
            geom.addControl(new RigidBodyControl(0));

bulletAppState.getPhysicsSpace().add(geom);

rootNode.attachChild(geom);

}
    }
}</div>

Yes it is your hardware, it cannot do what you tell it to do so fast. But your approach is about the worst way you could attempt this, the beginner tutorials actually warn you about this. Are you planning on doing a box world or whats it about the boxes? A box world does not consist of boxes. Read the many posts on box world and voxel engines here in the forum if you plan to do something like this.