[SOLVED] Improper Collisions

I have a physical ground and blocks falling on it. I have added the appropriate Collision Shapes and Rigid Body Controls to both the ground and the blocks.

Everything is working well for blocks falling from a small height. But weird things start happening for blocks with a larger momentum. The get stuck in the ground. Or simply pass through it.

I’ve tried tweaking the weights of the RigidBodyControls, tried adding and removing restitution amongst other parameters. But still the glitches happen.

Am i missing something?
Below are the methods where i create the chassis box and the ground.

48%20PM
22%20PM

1 Like

Set the margins for the collision shapes, jme used to have 0 margins by default and this causes unstable physics (fixed in master branch)

1 Like

I’m not entirely sure i can help here, since i’ve got little experience using bullet myself.
But from what i read i think your objects might be moving that fast, they are infront of the ground in the one frame and already behind it in the next frame (by frame i mean physics tick) so there is no real collision happening.
However there is a “workaround”, its called CCD (continuous collision detection or something) that makes sure not only the objects current position is taken into accout for collision checks but instead all the way it travelled since last tick
there is 2 methods, namely “setCcdMotionThreshold” and “setCcdSweptSphereRadius” first of which sets when to activate CCD (say you got a ball with diameter of 1 meter you dont need ccd when it only moves 20 centimeters) and the latter of which sets the radius of the sphere that is used for the collision checks because using the original collision shape for all checks on the way to the new position might be to expensive.