[Solved] One Material for different sized objects?

My situation is that I have a number of walls. Walls have different lengths, though they have the same height. I have one texture I’d like to use for those walls. The problem is when I apply the texture to a wall that is say 10x10, the texture is fine, but if the wall is 50x10, the texture is stretched to fit all 50 feet.

I’ve thought about breaking up the walls into 10x10 chunks, but that blows up the number of Geometries I use, which I would like to avoid if possible.

I looked at scaling the Texture, but I don’t see how to scale it for each individual wall, rather than for all of them at once.

I thought about trying to get the wrap mode to repeat but I may not be doing something right.

This seems to be a common situation, but I’m fairly new to all of this and would appreciate some pointers/kicks in the butt.

Here is some pseudocode:

[java]Texture tex = m_application.getAssetManager().loadTexture(“Textures/wall.jpg”);

tex.setWrap(Texture.WrapMode.Repeat);

Material mat = new Material(m_application.getAssetManager(), “Common/MatDefs/Misc/Unshaded.j3md”);

mat.setTexture(“ColorMap”, tex);

Quad q = new Quad(10.0f, 50.0f);

q.setStatic();

Geometry g = new Geometry(“wall”, q);

g.setMaterial(mat);

[/java]

Thanks!

The current shaders don’t support scaling… however… it’s an easy thing to add. I’ll post the unshaded here with scaling (tiling) as an example and you can modify whichever you need to do the same.

Ah… actually… I can just explain it simply enough. I believe most texture2D lookups are done using a variable named texCoord (vec2 storing the current pixel fragment coords) in the frag shaders. if you do something like texCoord *= 13.0; the texture would be tiled 13 times. Hoever, you’ll want to set the scale up as a uniform you can pass in or all of your textures using this shader set would be tiled 13x.