[SOLVED] Render BufferedImage with transparency

Hello,

I am trying to render a BufferedImage in JME3 so I can draw text in my 3D world (I tried a bitmap font, but I can’t get that to become transparent either).

Currently I am able to get my BufferedImage output into the world, except it’s presented on a black background, which I’d like to be transparent.

What am I missing in my code?

Please note I’m still a beginner when it comes to JME.

BufferedImage buffer = new BufferedImage(100,100, BufferedImage.TYPE_4BYTE_ABGR);

Graphics2D g = buffer.createGraphics();
g.setComposite(AlphaComposite.Clear);
g.fillRect(0, 0, 99, 99);
g.setComposite(AlphaComposite.Src);
g.setColor(Color.WHITE);
g.drawString("Hello World!",10,10);
g.dispose();

Image image = new AWTLoader().load(buffer, true);

Texture2D boardTexture = new Texture2D(image);

Quad quad = new Quad(10, 10);

Spatial textCube = new Geometry("box", quad);
Material material = new Material(assetManager, "Common/MatDefs/Misc/Unshaded.j3md");
material.setTexture("ColorMap", boardTexture);
material.setColor("Color", ColorRGBA.Red);
material.setTransparent(true);
textCube.setQueueBucket(Bucket.Transparent);
textCube.setMaterial(material);
rootNode.attachChild(textCube);

Thanks in advance

Let’s start with that… because bitmaps fonts can definitely be clear. I do it all the time.

…then the same solution will apply to your image.

Edit: also… how do you know it’s not transparent? We can’t see it. We can’t even see the rest of your scene… and that might be the issue.

I don’t know, I followed some examples that I could find via google, but it wouldn’t work for me, those characters would have a black background too.

I uploaded them at https://www.jorinvermeulen.com/downloads/font.fnt and https://www.jorinvermeulen.com/downloads/font_0.png

I tried removing the black background from the PNG file, but it would still render with a black background.