[SOLVED] Weird launch effect on sharp edges

Hi there, I am relatively new to JMonkey and just getting started building a simple JumpAndRun. I want to use the blocks framework from GitHub - rvandoosselaer/Blocks: A block (voxel) engine for jMonkeyEngine .
My problem at the moment is that when the character (BetterCharacterControll) jumps onto a block and hits its edge he gets launched into the air, with his velocity increasing from ~4 → over 9. The creator of blocks says its not his framework, so my question is: What in bullet could cause this behavior?

I have had a deeper look into the matter and it seems as if the velocity of the object increases a lot in the collision tick (4 to > 9), so I implemented a custom PhysicsTickListener, but that only solves the problem after each tick, so you can still feel the boost very well. If you want to enable my ‘fix’ remove the comment on line 46 in PhysicsTickHandler.

My code is available as a zip:
https://github.com/rvandoosselaer/Blocks/files/3962411/Coronon-launchEffect.zip

Thank you :slight_smile:

Coronon

1 Like

sorry, i dont open or download any zip files.

But have you maybe tried play with physics options, like setting proper gravity?

bulletAppState.getPhysicsSpace().setGravity(new Vector3f(0, -20f, 0));

or:

bulletAppState.getPhysicsSpace().setAccuracy(0.01f);

?

there are a lot of settings, also for collision shapes too.

Also this looks like you use this framework:

so i assume you already talk with @remy_vd

and im also not sure why your file is under “rvandoosselaer”, do you cooperate in this project or what?

Hi, thanks for the quick reply, yes I already tried setAccuracy, didn’t think setGravity would have any effect, will try.

I uploaded my code to explain him some bugs I found in his code that would crash his framework every time when used on windows (And I don’t have enough rights to upload my code here)

Generally i had issues with BetterCharacterControl myself, its not perfect i know.