Subversion?

Hi there,

Could it ever be the case that jME would switch to Subversion ? I am often supplying patches (since I am not a core dev on jME) and doing diffs, updates, commits, etc. etc. with CVS is slow, stupid and a terrible time-wasting process. Let me give some examples:

• The merging of differences works better in subversion, I don't know how, but when making a change and then later updating to find the very same change is now in the rep subversion just figures it out, CVS often makes a conflict instead.
  • Making a diff requires access to the CVS server in CVS, this is NOT the case with subversion. Hence, making a diff is local-file-access-fast.
  • Since I am not a developer on jME, I do not have the permission to add files to CVS… fair enough. But this means these files do not show up when doing a diff !!! This is not a problem in subversion, since adding a file does not… (yup you guessed it) require access to the server, only the commit does and this I am not allowed to do.

So, to make life easier for everyone, and to make patch-making easier for the "none-core" developers, please consider switching to subversion.

Thank you so much !

Does java.net even support switching to svn? (without loosing history etc.)

Or does it even support svn?

No idea :slight_smile: But it is possible to port a CVS repository to Subversion using http://cvs2svn.tigris.org/ and java.net has Subversion as an option (using the “Software Configuation Management”: https://www.dev.java.net/scdocs/ddSVN)

Wahoo for Subversion! :slight_smile:

i love subversion, so i'm all for it if it's possible…

If I can figure out how to switch from CVS to SVN on an existing project, I'll be more than willing to change over.

Now we just need a magic "switch to svn" button on java.net's project control panel.  :stuck_out_tongue:

Technically it wouldn't be hard for them to add…however, given the lack of features on Java.net…there are many other things their time could be spent on. :-p