Terrain size

I am still new to JME3 and am trying to create a first game. Right now I want to add terrain to my BasicGame. For this I follow jMonkeyEngine SDK: Terrain Editor :: jMonkeyEngine Docs

In there it says
Make sure you decide now how large you want your terrain to be and how detailed you want the textures to be as you cannot change it later on!

Thank you for the hint. But what considerations should I do for a reasonable terrain size? Do I need to know the complete extent of my scene? (in my case a lot will come from OpenStreetMap and thus is variable). Or will I be designing a tile that gets repeated over in the X-Z plane? How big is big? How big is small? What is the impact of my design choice?

Generating Terrain Entropies for LOD
What is LOD?

LOD stands for ā€œlevels of detailā€. In practice this refers to a performance optimization that causes a Geometry to use more mesh indices when itā€™s close to the camera and fewer mesh indices when itā€™s further away.

1 Like

The sizing is all relative, so it does take some adjusting depending on your specific scene. In my case, players are about 5-8 units tall, and each terrain is size 512 with a 256 patch size ( so 4 patches per terrain ) and 512 size alpha map, and this seems to work well. But obviously this could differ for your specific scenario.

It looks like youā€™re currently using the SDK to generate a terrain, although you are likely better off creating a new Terrain with code and then procedurally set the height of each point in the terrain based off of data from OpenStreetMaps. This way it would also be really easy for you to play around with the different sizes and scales since youā€™ll be generating it instantly, rather than sculpting it by hand.