Terrain texture not showing, black

Hi,

I am a computer science student and I recently stumbled on jME and have been working with it for the past few days. The tutorials and forum here are great and I have been able to resolve most of my issues by reading although I ran into an issue with a modified example from one of the tutorials.

I have created a terrain model in 3DS Max using my own height map. I used blended materials to create a texture for terrain and then exported it as .OBJ and .MTL from 3DS Max.

Here is a pic

As you can see it is a fairly crappy example of an island but it should show using the test code from HelloModelLoading. I have loaded other models I exported to .OBJ from 3DS Max and I am able to see the model plus textures. . When I load this terrain it does load the geometry but it is completely black. The only way I am able to detect it is even there is by hitting ‘B’ to show the bounding regions.

So again it is loading but completely black. I dont know enough about graphics to start troubleshooting the creation of my model or something that I am missing with jME. Any help would be appreciated such as pointing me to some reading material, etc.

Thanks,

Chris

are you calling update render state after the model has loaded?

Yes, I have tried calling updateRenderState() on the node I create for the Spatial and on rootNode. Its odd since I can load other models with textures from an .OBJ file and am able to see them. The difference here is that Island model is just one plane whereas the other models I have loaded successfully are complex models with multiple subdivisions (I guess thats what you call them).

Here is the code, very short and simple.

protected void simpleInitGame()
{
        //////////////////////////////////
   // Load Island

// Point to a URL of my model
        URL model = HelloModelLoading.class.getClassLoader().getResource("jmetest/data/model/SandyIsland.obj");

FormatConverter converter = new ObjToJme();