What do you do?

I was just curious to find out the backgrounds of some of you serious monkeys - so, what do you do for a living?

I'm a … some kinda … I make scenarios for an ROV Simulator for a big Oil & Gas company in the UK [think: scripting levels/objects and making 3d models for a computer game … but the computer game is just flying a Remotely Operated Vehicle … maybe the most boring computer game ever made :P]

I am currently a freshman undergraduate at NYIT (New York Institute of Technology) for computer Engineer.

im a student at UNLV

Good question. Interesting for me as well.

I'm working as a programmer for a luxemburgish research company. Actually we write a big communication environment for "The Department for Child and Family Services". So actually not so much research :smiley: just java,swt,ejb3,mdsd and bpel.

And for about one year I'm using jMonkeyEngine although I knew it since 2005. The ludumdare-compos brought me back to gamedevelopment. But until now eveything I finished is crap( http://thomas.trocha.com/wp/?page_id=7 ). But it is getting less worst from time to time :smiley: At the moment I try to create a top-down spaceship shoot'em'up game…

Up until recently I was a student at the Vancouver Film School, Canada, undergoing their game design program. Because of sickness in the family I am taking a leave of absence from my studies to travel back home to Norway.

I reckon for about a year to come now I’ll be doing something more ‘ordinary’ and less time consuming. Plenty of time for me to get some serious work done again in the management sector together with Skye and others :slight_smile: